Lemon Chicken by Jeremy Cohen

This lemon chicken tasted unusually special
on this date.
I wanted to ask her if it reminded her of something
but it would come off as strange.

We kept talking about mundane things.
nothing too personal.
not even worth talking about.

But the way she spoke was what struck me
I felt like, I don’t know.
I was overthinking.

But the way her lips
made that gentle motion
as she chewed just
reminded me of someone.

But it couldn’t be.
it definitely wasn’t.
I was living across the country now
in a small town.

“Tell me about your first kiss,” I said.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.